3 Ways to Calm Down Without Thinking About Breathing

Shifting your focus away from your body and mind

Andie Wilde
2 min readJul 23, 2024

Is it just me or does being told to focus on your breathing stress you out? It can tip me over the edge into a full blown panic attack!

As a result, I’m searching for fast ways to calm down that shift my focus away from myself.

A potted fern on a desk beside a computer.
Photo by Unknown Wong on Unsplash

Keep some greenery around

Green is such a soothing color, especially the light green of new leaves. It’s lovely to gaze at a house plant and look for its new growth.

I keep a fern in my bathroom where I remember to splash water onto it every time I wash my hands. There’s hardly any room to use the sink because of its long fronds, but that’s beside the point!

If you can’t keep real plants near you, put up a picture of a beautiful forest or a majestic tree.

Pat something!

If you have a calm dog or cat available, pat them! It releases happy hormones.

A cute ginger cat lying on its side.
Photo by Ludemeula Fernandes on Unsplash

Skip this one if your cat is being standoffish (cue feelings of rejection!) or your dog is in the mood to knock…

--

--

Andie Wilde

Science communicator & author writing about living a calmer, more enjoyable life. Editor of The Path to Beautiful Thoughts. | Banner: Felix Mittermeier, Pexels